What to Choose?

I have two character concepts in the running. Last night I created a first level wizard gnome. My mind was crackling with the possibilities of a Yoda-like, active, arcane wielder. With my links to old school gaming, I want access to the powers from first edition: Mordenkainen’s Sword, Fireball etc… After I finished, however, I was less enthused: since my party already has two strikers, I shied away from Magic Missile and other focused damage powers. Instead, I picked mostly powers that obstruct monsters. At this point, I thought my decision was settled. My interest in the druid had faded and I was pondering paragon.

Then I had a moment of endorphin-clarity during my morning run. While I’m out running, I’m pretty disgusting. I spit when I feel like it, I blow snot at semi-regular intervals. I know these aren’t civilized behaviors, but I feel better when my fluids are flowing. No one enjoys a sniffly nose, especially during exercise. The clarity came when I considered basing a character on that behavior. It would work for any primal or otherwise uncivilized character. Like a switch, I was interested in the druid again. What if he had no concept of social norms, but with a heart of gold (or at least copper)? There’s a lot of juicy role-playing space there.

After I got home, I fired up the character builder and started on the druid. I must admit, from a design perspective, he might be more fun. I like the balance of close-up beast powers and longer range caster abilities.

By Thursday’s post, I should have a final decision. As usual, I’ll also chime in on Twitter with further developments.

3 Comments

Filed under 4e D&D, Character, Fluff, Fluff/Inspiration, Inspiration, life meets game

3 responses to “What to Choose?

  1. Matt S

    One word, set up by seven words: goblin.

  2. Goblin seems to fit that concept brilliantly. A Shifter might do well with that as well.

Leave a Reply

